THERE ARE VOICES IN MY HEAD

Posted: August 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ve been meaning to update and upgrade my blog for a while now but for some reason I kept postponing it for a day when I would be sufficiently motivated. Well today, I’m feeling both sufficient and motivated. I’m feeling meticulously needy to exorcise the realms of my thoughts of the demonic worms that slither within. I feel the breath of my soul as it flows through the strikes of my fingertips. Because there are voices in my head. And they want to speak.

So I’m going to write a blog about me and my thoughts. How we talk and have mental intercourse. About my life and lies. My wives (or at least would-be wives) and my miles. And to do that, I’m going to have to start by telling you about myself.

I’m sad. Not in a teary-droopy-soby-kind-of-face-way but more like a miserable-and-pathetic-kind-of-way. I keep flirting with destiny hoping it will lead me to a bed of roses. and somehow, I get the feeling destiny flirts right back. She’s treated me well you see. And I haven’t really had to scratch her back. Though like any relationship we’ve had our fair share of twists and turns. But then variety is the spice of life so, BRING IT ON!

They say satisfaction is the death of desire. Well, my desires constantly keep going higher and higher making sure I never get satisfied. That’s got to be what fuels my ambition. Which by the way I’m still trying to place my finger on a couple of decades after I stormed out of my mother’s womb.

Perspire to aspire. It’s embroidered in my spirit. An axiom that has always been the kicking hooves of my never-dying horse. My ex-girlfriends would be in a better position to expound further on that albeit in a completely different context but I want to assume you get the point to spare us both the graphic explanations.

While pinned on the cross of adversity, I would smile back at my jurists delighting in the secret knowledge of my unanticipated triumph. For my kind of wisdom can not be obliterated. It is enshrined in the omnipotent vapors of my essence. So yes, I am purporting to be unequivocally intelligent! Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

At my age, my mum was already a mother of me and my younger brother. I know! How times change, huh?! At my age, I’m already a father of one and two of her younger sisters. Who am I kidding? The closest thing I’ve come to fatherhood is hosting a couple billion tadpole looking thingies in my loins. Whoever claims I fathered them must have been a mutation of something that came from the amalgamation of one my leaks and the fabric off my bed sheets. I digress.

I was telling you about me. I’m really the worlds most average of Joe’s. Yet in a sense, I’m that everyday kind of person who only comes by every once in an eon. Like Harley’s comet. A spectacle to behold yet so rare you might never come across it in an eternity. I’m that soul mate you know so very well yet you’ve never met. I’m that whisper that whistles beyond the horizon of your cognition and seduces your person into a ghostly void. Although a handful of my closest friends would find the above paragraph laughable.

Ideally, I’m a nice guy. I’ve never been in a single fight my entire life. Well, there was that one time but I doubt if that counts. That was what I would call a violent monologue. For the sake of my image and self-esteem, I will keep that to myself. Anyway, I’m a nice guy. The kind of person you would feel secure leaving your sixteen year old daughter with to go on a vacation in Maui. True story.

I find words thrilling. Erotic, to be more descriptive. The alluring curves of the letters as they dance in rhythmic twists and turns forming seductive patterns of words that are capable of arousing our innermost emotions are simply irresistible. The sensations they elicit from our core are the sparks that ignite our imagination and illuminate our reality. I enjoy playing with them as a child enjoys fondling a venomous snake oblivious of the potent danger it portends. Indeed words are innocently volatile. They can either create or destroy depending on how they are applied. But their beauty remains constant.

In a nutshell, that’s me. I do not mingle with the high and mighty at the high table of opulence. I do not embody the sophistication and charm of royalty. Instead, I identify with the murk and grime of everyday life. My existence is dotted with an indignant defiance to conformity. Yet I have no intention of altering the status quo. It suits me just fine. For that matter, I feel obliged to share my thoughts and experiences with anyone who wanders into my life. And since I haven’t held a gun to anyone’s head I wouldn’t care much for your approval on what I write/say. On that note, welcome to my blog.

Comments
  1. Ndeda says:

    Yeah, u were indeed sufficient and motivated, there gets a time when a man has to shade of a part and make sure that it is the dog that wags the tail and not the other way round. My teacher once wrote on my book, GW, he never had that building at UoN in mind. 2day I also write on ur work GW. Cool?

Leave a Reply

